top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey

MS Heart of the USA

Boredom leads to Food Drives which leads to Beauty Pageants

I've been making the transition from Dallas to San Antonio which means that I get to work from home a lot. This can make concentrating on work kind of hard. On one of those "hard to focus" days I let my laptop rest and fliped on the TV. I settled on a re-run of ABC's Secret Millionaire series where self-made millionaire and San Antonio resident Jeff Usner was helping out at Habitat for Safe Seniors. I was struck by how much need exists for food so close to my own home. Determined to help, I jumped online and started surfing the internet waves for a food drive in the area. That's when I found the Miss Heart of the USA organization.

A Pageant with a Purpose

Each pageant also serves as a food drive. My entry fee was $25 and a minimum donation of 15 non-perishable food items. They offer special titles to contestants who bring the most food items including titles such as "spokes model" for getting the word out and "queen of hearts" for overall best score and most food donated. The day of the pageant we collectively donated near 300 items to the Fredricksburg food bank.

I snagged the title of MS Heart of the USA (for the 20-30 age group). Titles range from Baby Miss to Classic Miss (for "over 40" age group). There were a lot of adorable children and some really clever Mommy-Daughter duos.

What I really love about this pageant system is that it's community service focused instead of contestant focused. After you win a title you're free to use it to bring attention to local events that benefit your community.

Upcoming Opportunities to Strut your Stuff for a Good Cause

Miss Heart of Central Texas

February 8th 2015

Benefiting: San Antonio Food Bank

&

Guadalupe County Miss Heart of USA

April 12th 2015

Benefiting: Hill Country Daily Bread

The Miss Heart of the USA is truly a unique pageant program. They focus on teaching girls and young women the importance of giving back to their community. They believe you are never too young to start and its never too late to get involved which is why they have an age division for everyone.

bottom of page